SD Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Ave
Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605 773 3455
Need Based Scholarship Program


The South Dakota Needs Based Grant Program (SDNBGP) was established with the passage of Senate Bill 237; whereby interest earned from a one-time investment of $1.5 million in state monies will be used to fund the grant program. 


Due to legislative support for an emergency clause in Senate Bill 237, the Need Based Scholarship program will provide $200,000 during the 2013-14 academic year to needy students enrolled in participating institutions located within South Dakota.  No specific application form will be required to receive funds; however to be eligible students will need to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FASFA), and then work with Financial Aid Directors at the participating institutions will use their information to determine those students on their campus that have the highest amount of unmet need after determining other grants/scholarship, tuition reductions, and expected family contributions.  The scholarship program will allow campus administrators to make awards of $500 to $2,000 to help lower the educational costs for students. Dollars will be allocated to each institution based on the percentage of Pell eligible students enrolled at that institution.  In the future, the interest that is earned from the one-time investment of $1.5 million will be used to fund the program.  It is estimated that the interest from this fund will provide $60,000 worth of scholarship funding each year, and when matched by participating institution, it shall provide for approximately $240,000 worth of need based funding. 



Current Participating Institutions
Augustana University
Northern State University
Black Hills State University
Oglala Lakota College
Dakota State University
Presentation College
Dakota Wesleyan University
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
Headlines Academy, Inc
South Dakota State University
Kilian Community College
Southeast Technical Institute
Lake Area Technical Institute
University of Sioux Falls
Mitchell Technical Institute
University of South Dakota
Mount Marty College
Western Dakota Technical Institute
Note: Any Nonparticipating institution who would like to participate for the next academic year (2015-2016) must contact the Board of Regents' office by June 30, 2015.