​Reduced Tuition - Nebraska Residency


Background Information:


Nebraska residents who attend regental universities are eligible to receive a special tuition rate.  Starting in the summer 2019 term, both first-time freshmen and new transfer students are charged the South Dakota resident rate for all undergraduate course work.   



  • The special tuition rate applies only to state support courses – primarily those courses that are campus-based, centers and involve face-to-face instruction.
  • The regental system employs a standard fee structure; state of residence does not factor into calculation of fees. 


Participating universities:

  • Black Hills State University
  • Dakota State University
  • Northern State University
  • South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • South Dakota State University
  • University of South Dakota




For this particular program, no formal application is required.  Eligibility is determined based on information provided on the application for undergraduate admission; approval is automatically conferred at the point of processing and then documented in the student information system.