News Release
Contacts: Janelle Toman, Director of Communications
Tracy Mercer, Information Research Analyst

Telephone: (605) 773-3455
Fax: (605) 773-5320
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Wednesday, March 30, 2022

​Regents Recognize Black Hills State Student Organizations

SPEARFISH, S.D. – The South Dakota Board of Regents recognized student organizations from Black Hills State University this week for outstanding academic, community, and organizational work. Student groups from BHSU receiving awards were: 

Award for Academic Excellence – The Jacket Investment Club helps students learn about financial investing at the most basic level through management of a real-world portfolio. Club members may participate in a stock market game coordinated on campus by business faculty. This allows students to invest in a mock portfolio and compete with other students from across South Dakota. The club also helped sponsor professional development workshops on personal finance, self-marketing, and job interviews.

Community Service Award – The Art Club creates an outlet for members to have fun, while promoting the visual arts through collaborative activities and community service projects. A major goal for the year was to host workshops in new artistic mediums, as well as conduct sales events that show students how to sell their artwork. One of the club’s largest service projects was creating a mural in the Hive Dining Room on campus.

Award for Organizational Leadership – The Swarm Days Committee creates fun-filled and memorable homecoming week experiences each fall, as well as a week of festive activities in the spring. The goal is to create positive memories for students and foster loyalty in future alumni. Returning to a more normal campus experience after pandemic limitations, the committee was focused on supporting campus traditions and creating a renewed sense of community.



About the South Dakota Board of Regents: The Board of Regents has constitutional authority to govern the system of public higher education in the state of South Dakota. Supported by an executive director and staff, the board provides leadership and sets policies for programs and services delivered by its six public universities and two schools serving special K-12 populations. The public universities (and home campus locations) are Black Hills State University, Spearfish; Dakota State University, Madison; Northern State University, Aberdeen; South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, Rapid City; South Dakota State University, Brookings; and the University of South Dakota, Vermillion. The special schools are South Dakota School for the Deaf, Sioux Falls, and South Dakota School for the Blind & Visually Impaired, Aberdeen.