Your Future is Here! South Dakota Board of Regents                                                                                  August 17, 2010      

Regents Update is distributed following the South Dakota Board of Regents' regular business meeting. Click on the headline below for the full news release.

For editorial information contact Tracy Mercer at .


Level Funding Sought for Higher Education Budget

The public university system’s top budget priority for next year is to
maintain its general fund budget, avoiding further base funding cuts that jeopardize academic quality and drive up costs to students.

Transfer Agreement Paves Way for Students to Complete Health Sciences Degree

A credit-transfer agreement between The University of South Dakota and
three technical institutes in South Dakota will ease the way for two-year technical education students to complete a bachelor of science degree in health sciences.

Academic Program Requests Approved

The South Dakota Board of Regents has approved a request from Dakota
State University to deliver more of its academic offerings via the Internet. In other action, the board also created a new energy-focused certificate program at Black Hills State University and a minor in health sciences at The University of South Dakota.



Public Universities Engaged in Record Levels of Research

Total research awards to the six public universities in South Dakota exceeded
$154 million in the fiscal year that ended June 30, a record setting year for research support in the higher education system.


Other News


Gov. Rounds Appoints Student Regent

Gov. Mike Rounds has appointed Patrick Weber of Montrose to the South
Dakota Board of Regents. He will serve as the student regent and will be a formal member of
the board.


Warner to Chair National Higher Education Organization

Jack R. Warner, executive director and CEO of the South Dakota Board of
Regents, will become chair of the State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO) October 1. He has served for the past year as the group’s chair-elect.