For Release 19 March

Governor Announces Faculty Awards for Teaching with Technology

Ten NSU Faculty Win Awards

PIERRE—Governor Bill Janklow announced today the names of the state university faculty who will receive the Governor Janklow Awards for Teaching with Technology. Ten Northern State University faculty are among the 57 professors statewide named to receive the special awards designed to assist South Dakota public university faculty to develop skills in using computer technology in their classroom instruction.

This is the second year that the special competitive grant program, created by Governor Janklow in 1998, has been funded to help the faculty at South Dakota’s six public universities redesign courses to use more computers and technology in their classrooms. The purpose of the grants is to enable professors to teach their students the applications of technology in their disciplines. The competitive awards were open to any full-time faculty member who submitted a proposal. One hundred nineteen faculty members applied.

"Last year’s grant program was so successful that I wanted to fund it again this year," said Governor Bill Janklow. "When we started to operate the summer technology training program for K-12 teachers a couple of years ago, I had a chance to visit with the college professors who taught those courses. They expressed a desire to upgrade and expand their own technology skills. That seemed like a worthwhile investment for the future of our students and teachers. That is why I created the grant program last year. Since then I’ve heard so much from faculty and students about the difference it has made in their teaching and learning. It’s just a good idea to do it again this year."

Each award grant will consist of compensation for three months during the summer, much like faculty who teach summer school courses. Since faculty receive salaries only

for the regular academic year, any summer employment is contracted separately. In addition, each faculty winner will receive support funds that can be used for travel, training, equipment, and software associated with the project. Any equipment or software purchased will remain the property of the state. Award winners also must agree to teach the course for the next two years.

When creating the program, Janklow said that he expected that award winners would redesign their courses for computer-based technology instruction. As a result, their students will be able to use technology in tasks that they will encounter later in the workplace. He also expects that students will be evaluated using technology, the course will integrate materials using telecommunications, and the students and instructor will interact with one another using technology.

"I wanted to give our university professors the opportunity to use technology in new ways to enhance student learning. With individual awards, each faculty member is able to design a special sequence of technology learning that specifically meets that person’s needs," said Janklow. "We relied on an out-of-state evaluation tem to select the proposals for funding to avoid any appearance of favoritism. This year we will fund 57 grants. But they were so impressive, that I wish we could have funded more."

Robert T. Tad Perry, Executive Director of the Board of Regents, worked with Governor Janklow in structuring the award program. Perry said, "Each state university has agreed to provide support staff to assist the faculty members who receive these awards. Further, the universities agree to include technology-oriented courses as a contribution when considering faculty promotions and salaries." Last year’s award winners demonstrated their technology-based courses at a conference in October. They also displayed their redesigned courses in Pierre for the Legislature in January.

"The Board of Regents is very grateful to Governor Janklow for providing these additional resources to higher education faculty," said Regents President James O. Hansen. "We are just beginning to realize the educational opportunities available through the use of technology. The Regents expect these award winners to serve as campus leaders and mentors for other faculty as they adapt their own curriculum to make it more high tech."

NSU President John Hilpert said, "I am grateful that over the past two years so many Northern faculty have received support from Governor Janklow's grant program, Teaching with Technology. This visionary opportunity has allowed us to multiply the number of NSU professors who understand the power of technology in the classroom. Using what they have learned, they regularly introduce their students to tomorrow's skills. These dedicated educators are determined that graduates from all academic programs will be prepared for success in the 21st century."

A team of external reviewers from higher education evaluated all proposals. They rated the proposals for the awards and Janklow agreed with all of their recommendations.

Northern State University Award Winners

Faculty Project
Lysbeth Benkert-Rasmussen Distance Education and Internet Technology
Casey Black Expanding French Studies through Technology
Kenneth Blanchard Bringing the Capital into the Classroom: Integrating Computer Technology and Internet Access into U.S. Government
Dayton Cook Integrating Computer Technology into the Introductory German Courses to Prepare Students for the Real World
Peter Kilian Incorporating Digital Media and Internet Resources into Drawing
Raj Markanda Using Technology in College Algebra
Teresa Stallings Using WebCT and Digital Video Technology to Create a Versatile Distance Learning Environment
Dan Tallman Computers for Content Mastery and Data Analysis in General Education Biology
John Trierweiler Building Computer Simulations for Synchronous and Asynchronous Learning
William Wieland Implementing a Computer/Electronic Piano Lab in Music Theory

For more information contact: Dr. Paul Gough, Director of Planning and Policy, South Dakota Board Regents, (605) 773-345, or Julie Holzer, University Relations, Northern State University, (605) 626-2552. 

Return to 1999 Press Releases