For Release 19 March

Governor Announces Faculty Awards for Teaching with Technology

Twelve SDSU Faculty Win Awards

PIERRE—Governor Bill Janklow announced today the names of the state university faculty who will receive the Governor Janklow Awards for Teaching with Technology. Twelve South Dakota State University faculty are among the 57 professors statewide named to receive the special awards designed to assist South Dakota public university faculty to develop skills in using computer technology in their classroom instruction.

This is the second year that the special competitive grant program, created by Governor Janklow in 1998, has been funded to help the faculty at South Dakota’s six public universities redesign courses to use more computers and technology in their classrooms. The purpose of the grants is to enable professors to teach their students the applications of technology in their disciplines. The competitive awards were open to any full-time tenure or tenure-track faculty member who submitted a proposal. One hundred nineteen faculty members applied.

"Last year’s grant program was so successful that I wanted to fund it again this year," said Governor Bill Janklow. "When we started to operate the summer technology training program for K-12 teachers a couple of years ago, I had a chance to visit with the college professors who taught those courses. They expressed a desire to upgrade and expand their own technology skills. That seemed like a worthwhile investment for the future of our students and teachers. That is why I created the grant program last year. Since then I’ve heard so much from faculty and students about the difference it has made in their teaching and learning. It’s just a good idea to do it again this year."

Each award grant will consist of compensation for three months during the summer, much like faculty who teach summer school courses. Since faculty receive salaries only

for the regular academic year, any summer employment is contracted separately. In addition, each faculty winner will receive support funds that can be used for travel, training, equipment, and software associated with the project. Any equipment or software purchased will remain the property of the state. Award winners also must agree to teach the course for the next two years.

When creating the program, Janklow said that he expected that award winners would redesign their courses for computer-based technology instruction. As a result, their students will be able to use technology in tasks that they will encounter later in the workplace. He also expects that students will be evaluated using technology, the course will integrate materials using telecommunications, and the students and instructor will interact with one another using technology.

"I wanted to give our university professors the opportunity to use technology in new ways to enhance student learning. With individual awards, each faculty member is able to design a special sequence of technology learning that specifically meets that person’s needs," said Janklow. "We relied on an out-of-state evaluation tem to select the proposals for funding to avoid any appearance of favoritism. This year we will fund 57 grants. But they were so impressive, that I wish we could have funded more."

Robert T. Tad Perry, Executive Director of the Board of Regents, worked with Governor Janklow in structuring the award program. Perry said, "Each state university has agreed to provide support staff to assist the faculty members who receive these awards. Further, the universities agree to include technology-oriented courses as a contribution when considering faculty promotions and salaries." Last year’s award winners demonstrated their technology-based courses at a conference in October. They also displayed their redesigned courses in Pierre for the Legislature in January.

"The Board of Regents is very grateful to Governor Janklow for providing these additional resources to higher education faculty," said Regents President James O. Hansen. "We are just beginning to realize the educational opportunities available through the use of technology. The Regents expect these award winners to serve as campus leaders and mentors for other faculty as they adapt their own curriculum to make it more high tech."

SDSU President Peggy Gordon Elliott said, "South Dakota is very fortunate to have state leadership that recognizes the importance of technology for preparing students for the 21st Century. We owe Governor Jankow a real debt for his vision and dedication to our

students. He is making a difference today so our students can make a

difference tomorrow."

A team of external reviewers from higher education evaluated all proposals. They rated the proposals for the awards and Janklow agreed with all of their recommendations. 

South Dakota State University Award Winners

Faculty Project
Dennis Bielfeldt Designing a Web-based Symbolic Logic Translation Program for PHIL 200
April A. Brooks Western Civilization on the Internet
Kurt D. Cogswell Chaotic Dynamic Systems: an Internet-Based Course
Patricia E. Hacker Integrating Technology into the Physical Education Classroom to Enhance Movement Skill Teaching and Acquisition
Kathryn M. Penrod Redesign of Instructional Methods/Theory Course in Professional Education Sequence
Denise M. Peterson Providing an Introduction to Education Technology for Teacher Education Students
Lawrence C. Porter Delivering The Helping Relationship Online
Michael E. Ropp Enhancement of Electrical Engineering Using Computer Technology
Joseph Santos Internet-Based Financial System Simulation Game
Gary L. Steinley Redesigning a Course: Classroom to Internet
Gail Dobbs Tidemann On-line Credentials for Teacher Education Students
Howard J. Woodard Designing a Virtual Field Trip for Educating Students in the Natural Resources and Agricultural Associations of South Dakota


For more information contact: Dr. Paul Gough, Director of Planning and Policy, South Dakota Board Regents, (605) 773-345, or Jennifer Crickard Tschetter, University Relations, South Dakota State University, (605) 688-6161.

Return to 1999 Press Releases