For Release 18 March

Governor Announces Faculty Awards for Teaching with Technology

Sixteen USD Faculty Win Awards

PIERRE—Governor Bill Janklow announced today the names of the state university faculty who will receive the Governor Janklow Awards for Teaching with Technology. Sixteen University of South Dakota faculty are among the 57 professors statewide named to receive the special awards designed to assist South Dakota public university faculty to develop skills in using computer technology in their classroom instruction.

This is the second year that the special competitive grant program, created by Governor Janklow in 1998, has been funded to help the faculty at South Dakota’s six public universities redesign courses to use more computers and technology in their classrooms. The purpose of the grants is to enable professors to teach their students the applications of technology in their disciplines. The competitive awards were open to any full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty member who submitted a proposal. One hundred nineteen faculty members applied.

"Last year’s grant program was so successful that I wanted to fund it again this year," said Governor Bill Janklow. "When we started to operate the summer technology training program for K-12 teachers a couple of years ago, I had a chance to visit with the college professors who taught those courses. They expressed a desire to upgrade and expand their own technology skills. That seemed like a worthwhile investment for the future of our students and teachers. That is why I created the grant program last year. Since then I’ve heard so much from faculty and students about the difference it has made in their teaching and learning. It’s just a good idea to do it again this year."

Each award grant will consist of compensation for three months during the summer, much like faculty who teach summer school courses. Since faculty receive salaries only for the regular academic year, any summer employment is contracted separately. In addition, each faculty winner will receive support funds that can be used for travel, training, equipment, and software associated with the project. Any equipment or software purchased will remain the property of the state. Award winners also must agree to teach the course for the next two years.

When creating the program, Janklow said that he expected that award winners would redesign their courses for computer-based technology instruction. As a result, their students will be able to use technology in tasks that they will encounter later in the workplace. He also expects that students will be evaluated using technology, the course will integrate materials using telecommunications, and the students and instructor will interact with one another using technology.

"I wanted to give our university professors the opportunity to use technology in new ways to enhance student learning. With individual awards, each faculty member is able to design a special sequence of technology learning that specifically meets that person’s needs," said Janklow. "We relied on an out-of-state evaluation team to select the proposals for funding to avoid any appearance of favoritism. This year we will fund 57 grants. But they were so impressive, that I wish we could have funded more."

Robert T. Tad Perry, Executive Director of the Board of Regents, worked with Governor Janklow in structuring the award program. Perry said, "Each state university has agreed to provide support staff to assist the faculty members who receive these awards. Further, the universities agree to include technology-oriented courses as a contribution when considering faculty promotions and salaries." Last year’s award winners demonstrated their technology-based courses at a conference in October. They also displayed their redesigned courses in Pierre for the Legislature in January.

"The Board of Regents is very grateful to Governor Janklow for providing these additional resources to higher education faculty," said Regents President James O. Hansen. "We are just beginning to realize the educational opportunities available through the use of technology. The Regents expect these award winners to serve as campus leaders and mentors for other faculty as they adapt their own curriculum to make it more high tech."

USD President James Abbott said, "All of us at USD are appreciative of Gov. Janklow's commitment to technology in teaching and his willingness to give our faculty the

resources they need to redesign their courses to include technology. Our faculty is to be commended for recognizing the increasing importance of technology in teaching. Special congratulations go to the USD professors selected to receive the faculty awards. The projects selected are important and exciting. The Governor's program will benefit not only the award-winning professors and their students but all of us at The University of South Dakota as we learn from them how to make the most effective use of technology to improve teaching." 

A team of external reviewers from higher education evaluated all proposals. They rated the proposals for the awards and Janklow agreed with all of their recommendations. 

University of South Dakota Award Winners

Faculty Project
Gregory Boris Using Technology to Improve Instruction in School Administration
Hugh Britten Teaching University Genetics with Technology
Dale S. Farland Internet in the Classroom
Patrick L. Hauer The Incorporation of Motion Analysis through Computer Technology in the Examination and Evaluation of Normal and Abnormal Gait Patterns in Human Motor Performance
Katherine Lange Jorgensen Providing "Aging and the Lifespan" on the World Wide Web
Janet Logan Schieffer Using Technology in School Counseling to Promote Mental Toughness and Character in At-Risk K-12 Students
Grace Mims Integrating Technology into the Group Counseling Curriculum
Srinivasan Ragothaman The Enhancement of the Auditing Course(s) through SAP, Lexis/Nexis, and the WWW Technology Infusion
Gregory Schalliol Development of a Web-Based Course in Classical Mythology
Fuyuan Shen Using the Internet to Teach Integrated Marketing Communication Campaigns
Ann Stewart Balakier Art History Teaching with Technology
Susan Swan Conversion of Speech Communications 101 to a WebCT-Based System
Joseph E. Vitt Computer Applications in Analytical Chemistry
Randall Waldron Redesigning "Principles of Economic" for Interactive Learning
Linda Wigley Scribner Integrating Technology in Costume Design
Mary L. Zweber Providing "Nutrition Pathways" on the Internet

For more information contact: Dr. Paul Gough, Director of Planning and Policy, South Dakota Board Regents, (605) 773-345, or Dan Genzler, Media Relations, University of South Dakota, (605) 677-6116.

Return to 1999 Press Releases