News Release
Contacts: Robert T. Tad Perry, Executive Director
Janelle Toman, Director of Information and Institutional Research
T: 605.773.3455
F: 605.773.5320

EMBARGOED for Release: 10:30 a.m. (CDT), Friday, May 9, 2003

Campus Advisory Group Appointed for DSU Presidential Search

RAPID CITY – Eleven people have been appointed by the South Dakota Board of Regents to serve as a Campus Advisory Committee to aid in the search for a new president at Dakota State University in Madison.

“Members of the Campus Advisory Committee work closely with the Board’s search committee throughout this process,” said Regent James Hansen of Pierre, who chairs the search. Other Regents serving on the search committee are Richard Belatti of Madison; Randy Morris of Spearfish; and Harvey Jewett of Aberdeen, ex officio member.

Named to the Campus Advisory Committee and the constituencies they represent are:

§         Community – Jon Hunter, publisher of the Madison Daily Leader

§         DSU Foundation – Dale Kringen, Madison business owner

§         Alumni – Cindy Schultz, program coordinator of STRIVE High Alternative School in Dell Rapids

§         Exempt Employees – Marie Lohsandt, director of career services 

§         Career Service Employees – Susan Eykamp, senior secretary for E-education services

§         Administration – Marilyn Fowle¢, vice president for business and administrative services  

§         Faculty – Omar F. El-Gayar, assistant professor of information systems; Nancy Moose, associate professor of English

§         Students – Eric Saugstad of Alcester, secondary English education major; Sarah Linneman of Estelline, management information systems major

§         Institutional Collaboration – John Hilpert, president of Northern State University

“These committee members represent a range of interests and experiences,” Hansen said. “We are pleased to have their input as we select new leadership for Dakota State University.

“Once again, we included a university president from our system on the Campus Advisory Committee,” Hansen said. “Northern State President John Hilpert’s input will be valuable, because another president can bring special insights into the search process.” Hansen noted the institutional collaboration representative was first used in the recent search for a new South Dakota School of Mines and Technology president, and it worked well. “Our universities are part of a unified system of public higher education, and we want to encourage that kind of collaboration to continue,” he said.

The Regents also will work with Dr. Bruce T. Alton of Academic Search Consultation Service in Washington, D.C.; Regents’ Executive Director Robert T. Tad Perry; and Board Secretary Mary Turman to seek and review candidates for the DSU presidency.

DSU President Jerald Tunheim has announced his plans to retire at the end of 2003.


Return to Press Releases