News Release
Contacts: Robert T. Tad Perry, Executive Director
Janelle Toman, Director of Information
T: 605.773.3455
F: 605.773.5320


For Release: 10:30 a.m. (CDT), Friday, October 11, 2002

Campus Advisory Group Appointed for Mines’ Presidential Search

BROOKINGS – Twelve people have been appointed by the South Dakota Board of Regents to serve as a Campus Advisory Committee to aid in the search for a new president at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology.

“The Campus Advisory Committee will work closely with the Board’s search committee throughout the process,” said Regent Pat Lebrun of Rapid City, who chairs the search. Other Regents serving on the search committee are James Hansen of Pierre; Shane Penfield of Lemmon; and Harvey Jewett of Aberdeen, ex officio member.

Named to the Campus Advisory Committee and the constituencies they represent are:

         Community – H. Edward “Ed” Yelick, director of the Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce Board

         SDSMT Foundation – Pat Burchill, regional president of US Bank in Rapid City

         Alumni – Dan Landguth, president and CEO of Black Hills Corporation

         Exempt Employees – Deb Sloat, director of human resources at SDSMT

         Career Service Employees – Carolyn Brich, secretary in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department

         Administration – Jan Puszynski, dean of College of Materials Science and Engineering

         Faculty – Alvis Lisenbee, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering; Michael Langerman, Department of Mechanical Engineering

         Students – Abe Kean, computer engineering senior; Marci Medalen, chemistry junior

         At Large –Antonette Logar, chair of Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

         Institutional Collaboration – Thomas Flickema, president of Black Hills State University

In appointing this particular Campus Advisory Committee, the Board of Regents added two persons to its traditional advisory structure. “There are unique circumstances in the SDSMT search that make this important,” Lebrun said. “First, there is a long history of engineering and technology fields being populated by males. Thus, the faculty and graduates of the institution reflect that gender history. In the Regental system, women make up one-third of the faculty while at SDSMT they are only 17 percent of the faculty.”

As a result, all the advisory members nominated from the alumni, foundation, and faculty groups were male. To provide better gender balance on the advisory committee, the Regents added an “at-large” member who is both a faculty member and alumnus, Dr. Antonette Logar, chair of the Mathematics and Computer Science Department.

South Dakota’s interest in advancing women in the sciences is consistent with national directions. Just a week ago, the U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Science, Technology, and Space asked for a review of math and science education for improving the participation of women in these fields.

“The Regents also recognize the special inter-institutional collaboration occurring in the Black Hills region between two sister institutions with complementary missions,” Lebrun said. The Board acknowledged the important long-term relationship between SDSMT and Black Hills State University by asking BHSU President Thomas Flickema to serve as an institutional collaboration representative on the advisory committee. “We have a unified system of public higher education where all institutions are expected to colloborate and work together. A president from another institution can bring a special insight into the search process,” Lebrun said. “This addition will be an enhancement to the committee and the work of the system.

“These committee members were chosen for their diversity and range of interests and experiences,” Lebrun said. “We are pleased to have their input as we select new leadership for the School of Mines and Technology.”

The Regents also will work with Dr. George R. Johnson Jr. of Academic Search Consultation Service in Washington, D.C., to seek and review candidates for the Tech presidency.

SDSMT President Richard Gowen is retiring July 1, 2003.


Return to Press Releases