Frequently Asked Questions

1. What are the Dakota Corps Scholarship eligibility requirements?
Click here to learn about the eligibility requirements.
2. What are the critical need occupations?
The Department of Labor will designate shortage occupations from time to time. The current critical need occupations for 2020-21 are:
  • Teacher - High School Math
  • Teacher - High School Science
  • Teacher - Elementary or Secondary Special Education
  • Teacher - High School Career and Technical Education
  • Teacher - K-12 Foreign Language
  • Teacher - Secondary Language Arts (NEW 2020!)
  • Accountant / Auditor
  • Engineer (includes all fields EXCEPT mining)
  • Information Technology
  • Registered Nurse
 3. What if I miss the application deadline?
Applications must be postmarked by February 1 to receive consideration.
4. When will I be notified of who the recipients are?
           The selection committee generally meets at the end of April and award letters will be dispersed sometime within the week following                ​the meeting.  All applicants will be notified, even if they were not selected to receive the award.​  

Note - Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, we are a bit delayed in the process for the Dakota Corps Scholarship.  We are currently looking at having the DCS Board meet to make selections first part of June. Students will be notified by either mail or email immediately following board selections.

5. If I do not meet all of the eligibility requirements, should I still apply?
The eligibility requirements outlined are the minimum requirements for the scholarship.
6. If I meet all the minimum eligibility requirements, will I automatically receive a Dakota Corps Scholarship?
No. The Dakota Corps Scholarship offers a limited number of awards each year to the pool of qualified applicants.
7. If my school does not use the 4.0 grade point system, how are my letter grades converted?
Below is a chart showing how letter grades convert to numeric grade points on the 4.0 scale:
               Letter Grade to Grade Point
A+ & A
 8​. What does “Information Technology" include?
    • Computer and Information Research Scientists
    • Computer Systems Analysts
    • Information Security Analysts
    • Computer Programmers
    • Software Developers, Applications
    • Software Developers, Systems Software
    • Web Developers
    • Database Administrators
    • Network and Computer Systems Administrators
    • Computer Network Architects
    • Computer User Support Specialists
    • Computer Network Support Specialists
    • Computer Occupations, All Other

9​. What does “Accountant/Auditor” include (and not include)?

    • Accountants and Auditors
    • Budget Analysts
    • Credit Analysts
    • Financial Analysts
    • Financial Managers
Does NOT Include
    • Insurance Financial Advisors
    • Securities, Commodities, and Financial Services Sales Agents
    • Bill and Account Collectors
    • Tellers
    • Financial Clerks, All Others
    • Credit Authorizers, Checkers, and Clerks
    • Loan Interviewers and Clerks
    • Insurance Claims and Policy Processing Clerks
Determined on Case-by-Case Basis
    • Personal Financial Advisors
    • Insurance Underwriters
    • Loan Officers
    • Tax Preparers
    • Financial Specialists, All Other
    • Actuaries

10​. What does “Teacher - High School Career and Technical Education include?
    • Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources
    • Architecture & Construction
    • Arts, Audio/Video Technology & Communications
    • Business Management & Administration
    • Education & Training
    • Finance
    • Government & Public Administration
    • Health Science
    • Hospitality & Tourism
    • Human Services
    • Information Technology
    • Law, Public Safety, Corrections & Security
    • Manufacturing
    • Marketing
    • Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics
    • Transportation, Distribution & Logistics

11. What does “other allied health care” include?
(NOTE: This applies only for those who were awarded the scholarship previously under this category prior to the change in eligible critical needs areas)
Other allied health care fields include those health care professionals that support and complement the roles of physicians, nurses, and other health care specialists. 
The application form provides the applicant with the opportunity to list the specific allied health program which he or she plans to pursue.  When reviewing the applications, the Dakota Corps Scholarship Board will consult with the Department of Labor if there is any question as to whether or not one of the allied health care fields is a critical need area.  The DCS Board will then make a decision accordingly. 

Interested students are encouraged to apply for the scholarship even if they are not sure that the occupation they are planning to major in will be considered an “other allied health care” field.
Some of the "other allied health care" fields that have been accepted in the past include:
  • Anesthesiology
  • Athletic Training
  • Clinical Lab Science
  • Dentistry
  • Dietetics / Biology
  • Health Information Technology
  • Medical Lab Sciences
  • Medical Technology
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Optometry
  • Pharmacy
  • Physical Therapy
  • Physician Assistant
  • PreMed
  • Radiologic Technology
  • Respiratory Care
  • Ultrasound Tech