Skip to main content.

System Facts

 System Facts

  • The South Dakota Board of Regents' system manages six public universities, the school for the deaf, and the school for the blind and visually impaired.
  • Off-campus public higher education centers also are located at Rapid City, Pierre, and Sioux Falls.  
  • The public university system serves 36,662 students (headcount enrollment) per year in credit-based courses, and produces about 6,700 graduates per year.
  • The public university system serves 26,634 full-time equivalent (FTE) students, a measurement based on total credit hours generated by all students within the system.
  • 63 percent of the students enrolled at South Dakota public universities are from South Dakota, and about 71 percent of those students remain in South Dakota after graduation.
  • 64 percent of students in South Dakota's system are seeking bachelor's degrees, and 20 percent are non-degree seeking.
  • Students of color make up about 16 percent of the enrollment.
  • Approximately 27 percent of the system's students are 24 or older.
  • The system employs an equivalent of about 5,100 full-time employees.
  • 76 percent of the system's faculty members hold a terminal degree in their field.
  • More than 700 degree programs are offered at South Dakota public universities.  
(updated March 2018)
BHSU Logo DSU Logo NSU Logo South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Logo South Dakota State University Logo USD Logo South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired Logo South Dakota School for the Deaf Logo BHSU Rapid City Logo USD Sioux Falls Logo


South Dakota Board of Regents
306 E. Capitol Avenue
Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605 773 3455
Contact Us