SD Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Ave
Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605 773 3455

Non-faculty Exempt Compensation Philosophy

Non-Faculty Exempt are employees that are not faculty but are exempt from the State Career Service System based on South Dakota Codified Law 3-6A-13. These are employees who perform administrative and professional/technical support functions.
The University System utilizes two common pay distribution systems: market-based pay and individual equity based pay. Under such a pay system, the compensation offered to employees for positions is priced according to the various labor markets where the employer competes for talent. A basic premise of the market-based pay philosophy is that employers be able to effectively compete in a variety of markets to attract and retain qualified employees. Individual equity is the extent to which employees are compensated for individual performance. Therefore, a link always exists between external competitiveness and the internal values of work. For this reason, SDBOR does not provide a flat percent across the board but rather supports a market based individual equity pay system.
BHSU Logo DSU Logo NSU Logo South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Logo South Dakota State University Logo USD Logo South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired Logo South Dakota School for the Deaf Logo BHSU Rapid City Logo USD Community College for Sioux Falls Logo