SD Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Ave
Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605 773 3455

Employee Classifications

Faculty Employees- Faculty are employees that are in faculty related positions who are exempt from the State Career Service System and perform research, instruction, and other faculty duties.   Some of these positions may be part of the collective bargaining agreement (CBA) and the recognized union representatives are Council of Higher Education (COHE). 

Non-faculty Exempt Employees (NFE) - Non-Faculty Exempt are employees that are not faculty but are exempt from the State Career Service System based on South Dakota Codified Law 3-6D-4. These are employees who perform administrative and professional/technical support functions. 

Civil Service Act Employees (CSA) - Career Service includes all employees not exempted in accordance to South Dakota Codified Law 3-6D-4.  Criteria for exemption from the Career Service Act include managerial duties at a policy-making level, high degrees of confidentiality, and responsibility for providing advice of a legal or technical nature to a department secretary, bureau commissioner, or institution administrator.

BHSU Logo DSU Logo NSU Logo South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Logo South Dakota State University Logo USD Logo South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired Logo South Dakota School for the Deaf Logo BHSU Rapid City Logo USD Community College for Sioux Falls Logo