Continuing Eligibility

        After a South Dakota high school graduates becomes an Opportunity Scholarship recipient, he/she must meet a number of continuing eligibility requirements each semester.  Recipients must maintain a cumulative 3.0 grade point average on a 4.0 scale as well as attempt and complete enough credit hours of instruction to meet the credit hour threshold for the forthcoming year (30 credit hours for 3rd and 4th term funding, 60 credit hours for 5th and 6th term funding, and 90 credit hours for 7th and 8th term funding).  Any recipient who loses eligibility because the student's cumulative grade point average falls below 3.0 may reestablish eligibility by raising the cumulative grade point average to 3.0 or greater.  Recipients failing to attempt or meet their respective credit hour benchmark in a given year become permanently ineligible in the scholarship program.  Each semester the 16 South Dakota institutions monitor recipient continuing eligibility in the Opportunity Scholarship program and upload recipient data into a database maintained by the Board of Regents.  These data are carefully monitored at both the institutional and system level to ensure that all students have met the continuing eligibility requirements specified in legislative statute that governs the scholarship program.  For instance, campus personnel review recipient credit hours attempted at the start of each semester, and notify those students who are at risk of not meeting their respective credit hour threshold for the forthcoming year.  Those students who fail to complete enough credit hours are not included in an institution’s term funding request, and subsequently become permanently ineligible for further funding.  As a function of South Dakota Codified Law, Administrative Rules have been develop to manage recipient continued eligibility across four areas including instances when a:

  1. Recipient failed to meet the Credit Hour benchmark requirement;

  2. Recipient is no longer actively enrolled in the program resulting from Persistence Issues (stop-out without executive director exemption), transfer outside the state, and withdrawal from an institution in South Dakota;

  3. Recipient fell below the 3.0 Cumulative Grade Point Average;

  4. Recipient has Graduated with a baccalaureate degree.   

Courses Graded S/U Only

       Students receiving the South Dakota Opportunity Scholarship must meet their respective credit hour threshold for each forthcoming year (30 credit hours for 3rd and 4th term funding, 60 credit hours for 5th and 6th term funding, and 90 credit hours for 7th and 8th term funding) in courses for which a letter grade is received. However, by university policy some courses are graded Satisfactory/Unsatisfactory (S/U) only and the student does not have the option of receiving a letter grade. The following lists indicate the courses at each university that are graded S/U only and are the courses that a student may use to meet their credit hour thresholds which must be met for each forthcoming year provided the student earns a final grade of S. If a course at a university is not on this list, a student may not use the credit hours to meet the credit hour benchmarks established for each forthcoming year.

Treatment of Special Enrollments

       Administrative rules for the Opportunity Scholarship program also outline the impact special enrollments have on a recipients continuing eligibility.  The following conditions for purpose of eligibility apply to special enrollments:

  1. Extra Heavy Loads;
  2. Summer and Interim Sessions;
  3. Repeated Courses;
  4. Asynchronous Distance Education Courses;
  5. Internships and Similar External Placement.